Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1 is a technical standard for content authors, web designers and developers world-wide. It is a standard for any content available via the internet such as web pages, applications, PDFs, videos, etc.

These guidelines were developed by:

  • World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
    develop web standards such as HTML, XML, CSS, etc.
  • Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
    develop web accessibility guidelines, technical reports and educational resources

Tools for testing accessibility

Accessibility checklist (WCAG 2.0 and 2.1)
Online checklist that explains requirements for meeting all accessibility criterions.

PDF checklist
Downloadable list to assist you with site audits. Open with full Acrobat (not the Reader) to fill it out and save.

Accessibility Insights - Microsoft
Automated checks and instructions for manual checkpoints.

IBM accessibility tools
There are accessibility tools for Chrome, Firefox, Karma and Node to evaluate web content for code level accessibility issues.

Wave toolbar
A Chrome add-on to help evaluate web content for code level accessibility issues directly within Chrome.

Colour contrast analyzer
Helps identify good colour combinations according to the WCAG text colour contrast requirements. Download the checker; this tool will even run off your desktop.

A Chrome add-on for colour vision deficiency testing.

Colour blind simulator
An online tool to test colour vision deficiency.

HTML validator - W3C
Validates the HTML markup on at page level. Copy and paste URL; site will generate a report.

Google lighthouse
Right click on a page in Chrome and select Inspect >>> Lighthouse (last option on top) >>> Accessibility (under Categories) >>> Generate report.

NVDA free screen reader

JAWS (screen reader)
A free limited trial version is available from the IT service desk. Fourty mins after opening, reboot your computer to make it available again. A full license is available for purchase.